I Want to Live – Nizar Qabbani (Arabic-English Translation)

أريد أن أعيش

نزار قباني

ساعديني علی الخروج حيا
من متاهات الشفتين المكتنزتين…والشعر الأسود
إن معركتي معك ليس متكافئة
فأنا لست سوی سمكة ضغيرة
تسبح في حوض من النحاس السائل
ساعديني علی التقاط أنفاسي
فإن نبضي لم يعد طبيعيا
ووقتي صار مرهونا بمزاجية نهديك
فإذا ناما نمت
وإذا استيقظا استيقظت
ساعديني علی التفريق بين بدايات أصابعي
ونهايات عمودك الفقري
ساعديني علی السفر من خريطة جسدك
فإنني أريد أن أعيش

__________________________________

Translation

I Want to Live

Nizar Qabbani

Help me to get out alive
From the mazes of firm lips and black hair.
My battle with you is not equal,
For I am not but a small fish
Swimming in a tank of fluid copper.
Help me to catch my breath,
For my pulse is no longer natural,
And my time has become subject to the temperament of your breasts.
If they sleep, I sleep.
If they awaken, I awaken.
Help me to distinguish between the beginning of my fingers,
And the end of your spine.
Help me to travel the map of your body,
For I want to live.

Translated by Kevin Moore.

One comment

  1. Abla Oudeh

    قصيدة جميلة والترجمة مناسبة . تحياتي كيفن
    For I am not like( but- سوى) a small fish

Leave a comment